Skip to main content

NCA4 Webinar Series – The Southeast

The Southeast CASC is hosting a webinar series focused on the Southeast, Tribes and Indigenous Peoples, and Caribbean chapters of the Fourth National Climate Assessment

What is the National Climate Assessment?

The National Climate Assessment (NCA) is a federally mandated scientific assessment that evaluates current and projected climate change related effects across the U.S. every four years. The fourth edition of the NCA was released in 2017, titled NCA4 Volume I: Climate Science Special Report (CSSR). The CSSR provides in-depth analysis on the foundational physical science of climate change, while the NCA4 Volume II: Impacts, Risks, and Adaptation in the United States, released in 2018, provides a detailed assessment of those impacts.

View our Overview: What is the NCA4 and What Does it Mean for the Southeast?

Schedule of Events:

This six-part webinar series will take an intensive look at Chapter 19 of the NCA4, Volume II: The Southeast, Chapter 15: Tribes and Indigenous Peoples, and Chapter 20: U.S. Caribbean. The topic of each webinar will be focused on one of the key messages outlined in the Southeast chapter and findings and case studies from the Tribes and Indigenous Peoples chapter relevant to the Southeast.

The Southeast: A Diverse Landscape

The Southeast CASC footprint includes the states of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and the territories of Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands. This widespread region encompasses a magnificent amount of biodiversity across diverse landscapes and ecosystems, many of which face challenges from changing climate and land use.

All photo credit to Alan Cressler.